Events

Check out LELA House’s upcoming events! Events include traditional book clubs, silent book clubs, group writing time, and salons (community discussions on a variety of LELA – life, education, literature, arts – topics).

Our book club author from April 2020 through March 2021 is Octavia E. Butler, sci-fi and fantasy writer extraordinaire. We will make our way through all of her novels and many of her short stories. Check out this video to learn more about Octavia Butler.

Tuesday events occur every other Tuesday at 12p PT/1p MT/2p CT/3p ET and will rotate through all four types of events.

Thursday events occur every other Thursday at 5p PT/6p MT/7p CT/8p ET and will rotate through all four types of events.

All events are virtual and last one hour. Registration is required, but events are free. Clicking on an event will take you to an Eventbrite page for that event. You’ll receive a link to join the event, once you’ve registered. Come join the LELA House community!

April 2020

Tuesday Events

Tuesday Book Club – Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler
Travel through time and place with immortals Anyanwu and Doro as they fight to create their legacies. Watch a teaser video to discover more.
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 12p PT/1p MT/2p CT/3p ET

Tuesday Silent Book Club
Join others dedicated to personal reading as a community event. Come ready with your own book to read. We’ll spend 45 minutes reading silently (all at the same time with our different books), then about 10 minutes chatting about what we read.
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 12p PT/1p MT/2p CT/3p ET

Thursday Events

Thursday DEW (Drop Everything & Write)
Give yourself the gift of dedicated time to write. We will do some warm-up exercises, write on our own for 45 minutes, and wrap up by planning our next writing sessions.
Thursday, April 16, 2020 5p PT/6p MT/7p CT/8p ET

Thursday Book Club – Dawn by Octavia E. Butler
Get hooked by the first book in Butler’s dystopian trilogy, Lillith’s Brood. Watch a teaser video to discover more.
Thursday, April 30, 2020 5p PT/6p MT/7p CT/8p ET




%d bloggers like this: